In residency in January from 12 to 28, 2013

The title of Tânia Carvalho’s new creation is The Recoil of Words. It is a programatic title in which the choreographer affirms her belief that dance is a true language, capable of expressing the ineffable, the undefinable: “In my work, over the years I have become accustomed to think without using words. Instead, I think through the prism of movement, body intensities, rhythms, pauses, silhouettes and atmospheres. I try to let the images just come to me, accumulating them until they create a definite shape. I like the idea that movement is its own language. And it is for precisely this reason I choose to get rid of words.” 
So there are no words in this new piece, instead there is music by Julia Wolfe, her piece LAD, originally composed for nine bagpipes and performed here live by Jean Blanchard. It is the point of departure from which the choreographer continues to explore the fertile links between music and dance, assisted by two colleagues with whom she has worked for years, Marlene Monteiro Freitas and Luís Guerra.

— Tânia Carvalho is a Portuguese choreographer who trained during the 90’s in Lisbon before dancing with, among others, Francisco Camacho, Carlota Lagido, David Miguel, Filipe Viegas, Vera Mantero and Luis Guerra de Laocoi. She also created many pieces before joining the collective Bomba Suicida, along with Marlene Monteiro Freitas and Luís Guerra. 
In her latest creation, 27 bones (2012), she explored the strangeness of the relationship between music and dance, creating onstage a fantastical ambience, channeling German expressionist film.

En résidence du 7 au 28 janvier 2013

Le titre de la nouvelle création de Tânia Carvalho, The Recoil of Words, pourrait être traduit en français par Le Recul des Mots.
Un titre programmatique dans lequel la chorégraphe affirme sa volonté de considérer la danse comme un langage en tant que tel, capable d’exprimer l’ineffable : « Dans mon travail, j’ai pris l’habitude, avec le temps, de penser sans recourir aux mots. Au lieu de cela, je pense par le prisme du mouvement, des intensités du corps, des rythmes, des pauses, des silhouettes, des atmosphères. J’essaye de laisser venir les images qui s’accumulent graduellement jusqu’à dessiner une forme définie. J’aime l’idée que le mouvement est un langage en tant que tel. Et c’est précisément pour cette raison que je tends à me débarrasser des mots ». 
Pas de mots donc pour ce nouveau spectacle mais de la musique, celle de Julia Wolfe, et sa pièce LAD, composée à l’origine pour neuf cornemuses et interprétée ici en live par Jean Blanchard à partir de laquelle la chorégraphe continuera à explorer les liens féconds entre musique et danse, assistée par ses deux complices de longue date : Marlene Monteiro Freitas et Luís Guerra.

— Tânia Carvalho
Chorégraphe portugaise, Tânia Carvalho s’est formée dans les années 1990 à Lisbonne avant de travailler comme interprète auprès des chorégraphes Francisco Camacho, Carlota Lagido, David Miguel, Filipe Viegas, Vera Mantero et Luis Guerra de Laocoi. Elle crée de nombreuses pièces avant de rejoindre le collectif Bomba Suicida, dont font aussi partie Marlene Monteiro Freitas et Luís Guerra. 
Dans sa dernière création, 27 bones (2012), elle jouait sur l’étrangeté des rapports entre musique et danse, en recréant sur scène une ambiance fantasmagorique, qui rappelait le cinéma expressionniste allemand.