“While creating Score I returned to the country where I was born, Israel, to collect soundbites; snippets of language and life. I then tried to bring the thriving pulse that I think defines the country and the intense dynamics that characterize human relationships in Israel to life on stage. It is a country of ‘high-tension energy with strong emotions shaped by survival and emergencies and raw, unmitigated feelings. It is something you see in the way people talk, move and communicate. The three characters on stage are archetypes; the personification of human nature as I experienced it on my journey. Score was designed as a mosaic, a playful composition, a tableau of alternating scenes to produce a metaphor of the country’s beauty and complexity while conveying its peoples’ yearning for a different kind of reality.” 
Yuval Pick 

Acoustic credits

Recorded: Israel, Sept. 09, recorded with 2xDPA 4060/ 2x shoeps mk4/ Fostex FR2 Editing and composition (except ©): Bertrand Larrieu & Yuval Pick

Part I
— Tel Aviv, club rock Levontin: a balance between the sound engineer and the musicians of the group Haivrit and an excerpt Al tenasi © of the same group (remixed) plus impro on synth Axolotl — www.myspace.com/haivrit 

Part II
— Tel Aviv, downtown, 4 AM: raw recordings around a night-time snack bar with a techno DJ, open to the street

Part III
— At a Druze village, Kfar-Mrar (northern Galilee): around a café, Bilal Abou-Gosh, Druze singer, sung a cappella — Tel Aviv, Hayarkon Park, 11 PM: Ruth Dolores Weiss sings Yakinton © a cappella — www.myspace.com/ruthdoloresweiss

Part IV
— Sounds of a shofar (raw and manipulated), an instrument of Judaic liturgy (Tel Aviv) and a Catholic procession in the village of Machul (northern Gallilee): drums, brass and bagpipes, and a collective prayer for Rosh Hashana (Jewish New Year), at the flea market in Jaffa (Tel Aviv) and diverse ambiances and sound treatments

Part V
— Tel Aviv: GPS of a taxi and the sounds of traffic lights for the blind, diverse ambiances and Damien Cluzel improvising on the guitar: Worldizing © (Lyon) — www.myspace.com/damiencluzel

In the press

“…The choreographer’s maddening dancing expresses the eagerness for living. This dazzling and deeply moving tale tells us about love, war, emergency and fear. The 3 dancers are exceptionally skilful and they are responding with a perfection to the imposed torrid pace of the piece and as well to the required dramatic intensity. One cannot emerge unscathed from this quest of identity cause this piece translates with accuracy the reality of a population who is prepared to do anything to survive.”
— Danser, extract - by Sophie Lesort, december 2010

“Yuval Pick’s dance is sharp, physical and powerful. It converses here with a soundtrack which is composed from street noises, testimonies and tries to reproduce this wonderful life impulse that crosses this country despite the war. His piece transmits these “raw” affects into a mosaic, directly from dancers’ bodies to those of the spectators.” 
— Le Petit Bulletin, extract - by Jean-Emmanuel Denave, march 2011

« Lors de la création de Score, je suis retourné dans mon pays natal, Israël, pour récolter des bribes sonores, de langue, de vie. J’ai ensuite cherché à transposer sur la scène l’énergie vitale qui représente pour moi Israël et la dynamique intense qui caractérise le rapport à l’autre. On sent dans ce pays des énergies à « haute tension », des sensations fortes d’urgence, de survie, dans un état brut qui n’est pas encore transformé, on remarque cela chez les gens à leur manière de parler, de bouger et de communiquer. Les trois figures que j’ai mises en scène représentent des archétypes, des concrétions d’humanités glanées lors de ce voyage. Score a été composé comme une mosaïque, un jeu de construction, une partition d’images alternées qui proposent à voir une métaphore de la richesse et de la complexité de ce pays, avec le besoin d’exprimer un souhait pour une autre réalité »
Yuval Pick

Générique sonore

Prise de son : Israël sept. 09, enregistré avec 2xDPA 4060 / 2xshoeps mk4 / Fostex FR2 Montage et composition (sauf ©) : Bertrand Larrieu & Yuval Pick

Part I
— Tel Aviv, club rock « Levontin » : balance entre l’ingénieur du son et les musiciens du groupe Haivrit + morceau Al tenasi © du même groupe (remixé) + impro au synthé Axolotl — www.myspace.com/haivrit

Part II
— Tel Aviv, centre ville, 4h : enregistrements bruts autour d’un snack de nuit avec dj techno, ouvert sur la rue.

Part III
— Village druze de Kfar-Mrar (nord gallilée) : autour d’un café, Bilal Abou-Gosh, chanteur druze, chante a capella — Tel Aviv, Parc de Ha-Yarkon à 23 h : Ruth Dolores Weiss nous chante Yakinton © a capella — www.myspace.com/ruthdoloresweiss

Part IV
— Eléments de schofar (bruts et traités), instrument de la liturgie judaïque (Tel Aviv) + procession catholique du village de Machul (nord gallilée) : tambours, cuivres et cornemuses + prière collective pour Roshashana (nouvel an juif), dans le marché aux puces de Jaffa (Tel Aviv) + diverses ambiances et traitements

Part V
— Tel Aviv : GPS d’un taxi + feu de signalisation pour aveugle + diverses ambiances + improvisation à la guitare par Damien Cluzel : Worldizing © (Lyon) — www.myspace.com/damiencluzel

Lu dans la presse

« Yuval Pick et son retour vers une terre Israélienne, où la force des rapports humains peut s’inscrire dans une proximité émouvante comme dans un rejet très violent. »
— C. Musseau, Sud Ouest
Festival Le Temps d’aimer, Biarritz, septembre 2011

« Un trio périlleux, tourmenté, qui fait immanquablement penser au travail du peintre Egon Schiele.»
— R. De Gubernatis, Nouvel Obsvervateur
Festival les Plateaux du CDC du Val-de-Marne, Maison des Arts de Créteil, septembre 2011

« Engagés dans une course à l’énergie avec une manière très particulière de danser, convoquant une autre légèreté, (…) les danseurs servent avec brio comme de fébriles sursauts de mémoire galvanisée par l’exil, les morceaux de la mosaïque psychologique d’une nation aux mille et une contradictions.»
— M.Dusigne, Le Journal de l’Ile
Festival Total Danse – Theat Champ Fleuri, Ile de la Réunion, novembre 2011

« Les trois interprètes tentent de mettre sur pied une structure à partir de leur corps - maison ou simple abri, mais semblent condamnés à l’échec. La question de la frontière, l’absurdité du mur, le déchirement autour des terres et l’apparente impossibilité à vivre ensemble surgissent alors sur le plateau nu. »
— S.Caruana, Hétéroclite
Événement BONJOUR ! au CCNR, novembre 2011

« …Ils s’accordent et dépendent les uns des autres, ils s’enfuient puis reviennent, ils sont sans cesse en mouvement, cette situation semble sans repos, presque éternelle. Le désir d’être ensemble ne parvient pas à être comblé, chaque tentative se termine par une lutte.»
— D. Shalev, 2nd-ops.com
French Connexion Danse – Suzanne Dellal Centre, Israël, décembre 2011