Danse Tout Terrain

A CCNR's project created in 2013 which proposed a piece by Yuval Pick PlayBach and a piece by the Canadian French Frédérick Gravel 
BWV 245 created especially for this project.
Aim : bringing contemporary dance to audiences who are the most removed from the dance circuit and creating new territories for dance in the Rhône-Alpes region with towns and local players

This project still exists today with two pieces by Yuval Pick : 
loom and PlayBach.


PlayBach
To revisit Bach’s oeuvre, Yuval Pick and his dancers created a playlist of the classic works in the Bach repertory. 
Using an Ipod, they zap from one excerpt to another, creating their own acoustic space in real time. 
Based on this musical universe, Yuval Pick created a choreographic score, based on an exploration of the concept of weight: working with the weight of another person means accepting him or her with all his or her baggage, constantly adjusting, being transformed by his or her touch. 
The piece renders this kind of communication visible, signs of a heightened awareness of the other partner, the use of a common vocabulary which has developed out of the relationships between the performers.

BWV 245
For Danse Tout Terrain, Frédérick Gravel has created six short studies based on Bach’s music, which creates a through-line. 
The dancers amuse themselves by overstepping it or matching it beat for beat. We cannot help seeing them as a couple, a dance couple performing the stages of a relationship in an order more rhythmic than narrative. 
Each étude is a stand-alone dance and the dancers remain who they are, but they allow the music and the images to play with the spectators’ imaginations. Their simple, unaffected performance make the movements and tableaux easier to interpret. The most well-known piece in the musical score is the Passion According to St. John, here used in four out of six études. The contrast between the sacred music and the trivial scenes performed by the dancers affects our take, making it difficult to ascertain if the dancers are celebrating or denigrating the featured actions.

Danse Tout Terrain

Un projet du CCNR créé en 2013 proposant une pièce de Yuval Pick PlayBach et une pièce du chorégraphe québécois Frédérick Gravel
BWV 245 créée spécialement pour l'occasion.
Son but : amener la danse contemporaine vers les publics qui en sont le plus éloignés et ainsi participer, avec les communes et les acteurs locaux, à créer de nouveaux territoires de la danse en région Rhône-Alpes.

Aujourd'hui ce projet continue d'être proposé avec deux pièces de 
Yuval Pick : 
loom et PlayBach.



PlayBach
Pour revisiter l’oeuvre de Bach, Yuval Pick et ses danseurs ont monté une playlist à partir des grands classiques du compositeur. 
Avec un Ipod, ils zappent d’un morceau à l’autre, créant leur propre espace sonore en temps réel. 
A partir de cet univers musical, Yuval Pick a composé une partition chorégraphique, née d’une exploration autour de la notion de poids : accompagner le poids de l’autre, c’est l’accueillir avec toute son histoire, négocier sans cesse, être transformé à son contact. 
La pièce tend à rendre visible ce mode de communication. Les signes d’une écoute sensible de l’autre, l’empreinte d’un langage commun qui émerge du rapport entre les interprètes.

BWV 245
Pour Danse Tout Terrain, Frédérick Gravel a créé six courtes études à partir de la musique de Bach. 
Cette musique créée la trame, les danseurs s’amusent ensuite à déborder de celle-ci, ou au contraire ils s’y accrochent à la pulsation près. On ne peut faire autrement que de voir un couple sur scène, un couple de danseurs qui joueraient les stades d’une relation dans un ordre plus rythmique que narratif.
Chaque étude vit indépendamment des autres, les danseurs restent qui ils sont, mais laissent les images et la musique faire travailler l’imagination des spectateurs. Leur jeu non affecté rend les poses et les mouvements plus faciles à interpréter à notre façon. 
La musique la plus utilisée dans ces études est la Passion selon Saint-Jean, présente dans quatre études sur six. Le décalage entre la musique sacrée et les scènes triviales qui sont jouées placent les danseurs dans un espace particulier, on ne sait plus trop si on célèbre ou si on dénigre les comportements affichés.