For Yuval Pick, dance is above all a way of being in the world, “I do not dance for pleasure, but in order to connect differently with the world. My dance is driven by instinctive, incarnate things. Through it, I try to preserve something essential.”

Fully engaged in its movement, its quality, its rhythm, its presence in the space - and devoid of any narrativity, Yuval Pick’s dance cannot be summed up as a purely formal exercise. His choreography consists of difficult passages alternating breaks and re‑grouping, unending attempts to find balance in movement. His work is imbued with exceptional expressivity, due in large part to the presence of his dancers, their commitment and power. Each work advances the effort a little farther to the point where forces are thinned out, the bodies entirely focused on their tasks. The dancers are fully invested in the idea and in the dance.

For this new work, Yuval Pick became interested in the idea of the ensemble. This theme is hardly a new one, but it has a particular acuity here, during this troubled period of exacerbated individualism. “In my circle, I hear a lot of negative, denunciatory comments. They can be useful, but right now I feel it is necessary to propose something else, in order to continue being here, working here.With neither naivete nor despair. Resisting. I would like this piece to be like a raw diamond from which a light shines…” 
Maxime Fleuriot

Pour Yuval Pick, la danse est avant tout une manière d’être au monde « Je ne danse pas que pour le plaisir mais pour pouvoir me connecter autrement au monde. Ma danse est animée par des choses instinctives, incarnées. À travers elle, je tente de préserver quelque chose d’essentiel ».

Très engagée dans le geste, sa qualité, son rythme, son inscription dans l’espace – dépourvue de toute narrativité, la danse de Yuval Pick ne se résume pas à un pur exercice formel. Ses chorégraphies sont des traversées éprouvantes faites de ruptures et de reprises, sans cesse en train de reconstituer un équilibre en mouvement. Elles sont empreintes d’une expressivité qui repose pour beaucoup sur la présence de ses interprètes, leur incarnation engagée. Chaque pièce porte l’effort plus loin pour atteindre ce point où les forces se raréfient, où les corps sont dévolus entièrement à leur tâche. Obtenir des danseurs un engagement et un abandon total au propos et à la danse.

Pour cette nouvelle pièce, Yuval Pick s’est intéressé à l’être ensemble. Thème souvent traité mais qui prend une acuité particulière en ces périodes troublées d’individualisme exacerbé. « J’entends autour de moi beaucoup de discours qui dénoncent. Cela peut avoir son utilité mais je ressens aujourd’hui la nécessité de proposer autre chose pour pouvoir continuer à être là. Sans naïveté et sans désespoir. En résistance. Je voudrais que cette pièce soit comme un diamant brut dont émane une lumière ».
Maxime Fleuriot